Matthes J506 Leadership Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Good Vs Bad Manager / Leader Qualities

The best manager I had displayed these qualities:

Responsive to my needs. Cared about the work I did and how I did it. Would take the time to explain how I should perform my work, but would also give me space to perform. Appreciated me taking the initiative to perform my work better. Asked if I ever needed assistance with anything all the time. If there was an issue with any work I performed, my manager would explain what I could improve upon. Challenged me to perform more work when it was necessary. Developed my leadership skills and allowed me to train others in the work I performed. Always respectful and knowledgeable about what direction we needed to take in order to get our work done.

The worst manager I had displayed these qualities:

Did not apply the same “rules” to all employees, when they should have. Disrespectful. Did not appreciate when employees would perform more work if it meant more work for them, no matter who it benefited. Very difficult to communicate with. Bad at time management. Contradicted themselves when it came to explaining procedures. Extremely unorganized. Poor response time to questions asked. Rude at times and had a negative outlook at work.  Would not challenge employees.

January 26, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Good stuff. I agree.

    Comment by Jill Mullens | January 26, 2009 | Reply

  2. Very well said! The contrasts in comparison really go to both ends of the spectrum.

    Comment by benjamib | January 27, 2009 | Reply


Leave a comment